In AFT, Blog

More than 200 delegates gathered in Detroit on May 19 for AFT Michigan’s 75th Convention. Through a full day of discussion, presentations and workshops, delegates updated our Constitution, elected officers, and passed resolutions establishing policy goals for our union.

The Paraprofessionals of Warren Woods, Local 4706, receiving the 2018 AFT Michigan President’s Award

Among the many highlights of the day, the Paraprofessionals of Warren Woods received the 2018 President’s Award, in recognition of their hard work maintaining better than 95% membership and getting every single member to contribute to PAC!

As always, we welcomed new members to the union, honoring the paraprofessionals in Hamtramck Public Schools and teachers at Southwest Detroit Community School, who formed unions and joined the AFT since our last Convention.











We also honored five great worksite leaders for their often unsung work “building the frontlines of our union:

2018 Worksite Leaders of the Year (and the local officers who nominated them)

  • Angela Swoszowski, Macomb ISD Federation of Teachers
  • Jennifer Byford, MSU Graduate Employees Union
  • Marcus Walton, Detroit Federation of Teachers
  • Velimir Stojkovski, UM-LEO, EMUFT, and HFCC-AFO
  • Angie Brown, Macomb ISD Federation of Paraprofessionals


Many thanks to everyone who attended and made the Convention a success, including our sponsors (National Teachers Associates, Billhighway, Blue Cross Blue Shield, MESSA, Mark Cousens, HAP, VOYA, Collins, Buri & McConkey, GLP Associates, Amalgamated Bank, Foresight Capital Management, and Capitol Services). See you in 2020!

Recent Posts
Detroit cb Victory